Bullying

As a child, I grew up in a world where bullying wasn’t spoke about. It was just kids being kids. You weren’t liked if you didn’t have someone calling you names or pushing you around. Even back then I knew it was wrong, but what was I going to do? Be a little tattle tell? No of course not. I was going to be the kid that took it, over came it, and made something of myself from it.

I don’t think anyone back then thought of suicide as an option to end bullying. In fact suicide wasn’t even prevalent back in my school. And if it was, it wasn’t talked about. But today, it seems as if suicide is a new fad to ending everything. It is such a strong solution to a temporary situation. I implore parents to teach their children to speak up and how to defend themselves as part of todays’ society.

Now, that I have had a little bit of your attention, I want everyone to know that I am 31 years old and I was bullied by someone that I thought was a friend of mine. It is not appropriate to write on anyone’s pictures and post them on Facebook. It is not appropriate to call their work and tell their boss that that persons’ private details. It is no appropriate to post on Twitter that the person is a slut because she refuses to back down in her beliefs.

So to those who think it’s alright, it is not. To those who teach their children this behavior, they are now the grown ups who bully others. Please stop this type of act. Teach your children kindness and compassion. You never know what is going on with the person you are tormenting. Do not let your children be the statistic of the one who causes another person misery.

Visit: http://www.stopbullying.gov/ learn how to help those who have been bullied. Learn how to stop bullying. But the most important thing is, listen to your children, they are crying out for you help every day. Don’t turn a deaf ear towards them. I’m an adult, I can handle the bullying, I can handle some idiotic behavior because I’ve had a life time to build the thick skin. But it never stops hurting. So be someone’s hero and teach them how to live in harmony with others.

4 thoughts on “Bullying

  1. I’m sorry you’re going through that. That’s terrible and no one should have to. It’s also great that you’re using that pain as a means to help other people realize that it isn’t okay though. That takes strength. Good for you đŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I think it’s sad kids are killing themselves because of bullying. It seems many of these kids are gay, transgendered or bisexual and would rather kill themselves than live wit the stigma of being gay, transgendered or bisexual.

    Like

Leave a comment